HSE University Anti-Corruption Portal
General Information
Anti-Corruption Track
Evaluation Mechanism

The African Union (AU) is a continental international organisation established in 2002 to replace the Organisation of African Unity with the aim to strengthen cooperation among African countries. The organisation has 55 member States. The AU has initiated the adoption of a number of inter-African agreements also in the area of anti-corruption.

The organisation is headed by a Chairperson elected by the Assembly of the African Union, the supreme governing body, for a period of one year. Currently, this post is held by Macky Sall from Senegal. The AU headquarters are located in Addis Ababa.

The AU activities on the anti-corruption track are primarily focused on the implementation of the African Union Convention on Preventing and Combating Corruption, which was adopted in 2003 and entered into force in 2006. At present, the Convention has been ratified by 47 AU members.

The Convention provides for criminalization of a number of offences, including bribery (of national and foreign officials), misappropriation of property, trading in influence, illicit enrichment, money laundering and concealment of property, and contains provisions concerning prevention of corruption crimes, regional cooperation, provision of mutual legal assistance and recovery of proceeds of crimes.

In order to provide assistance to the States parties in implementing the provisions of the Convention and adopting measures to prevent and counter corruption, as well as to exercise the technical monitoring of the implementation of the Convention by States parties in line with article 22 (1) of the Convention, the African Union Advisory Board on Corruption was established. It consists of 11 members elected by the Executive Council: 10 places in it are occupied by two representatives from each African region (Eastern, Western, Northern, Southern and Central), and one place is held by a representative of a region who is replaced every two years.

The Advisory Board organises an event entitled “African Anti-Corruption Dialogue” for the AU members on an annual basis.

A self-reporting mechanism is used to track the implementation of the Convention: within a year after ratifying the treaty the States parties send the Advisory Board the information on progress made in the fight against corruption; subsequently, they submit relevant reports to the Board at least once a year. The Advisory Board, on its side, forwards the information to the Executive Council in the form of reports.

AU members
Algeria
Democratic Republic of the Congo
Ivory Coast
Mozambique
South Africa
Angola
Djibouti
Kenya
Namibia
South Sudan
Benin
Egypt
Lesotho
Niger
Sudan
Botswana
Equatorial Guinea
Liberia
Nigeria
Tanzania
Burkina Faso
Eritrea
Libya
Republic of the Congo
The Gambia
Burundi
Eswatini
Madagascar
Rwanda
Togo
Cameroon
Ethiopia
Malawi
São Tomé and Príncipe
Tunisia
Cape Verde
Gabon
Mali
Senegal
Uganda
Central African Republic
Ghana
Mauritania
Seychelles
Zambia
Chad
Guinea
Mauritius
Sierra Leone
Zimbabwe
Comoros
Guinea-Bissau
Morocco
Somalia
Algeria
Equatorial Guinea
Malawi
Sierra Leone
Angola
Eritrea
Mali
Somalia
Benin
Eswatini
Mauritania
South Africa
Botswana
Ethiopia
Mauritius
South Sudan
Burkina Faso
Gabon
Morocco
Sudan
Burundi
Ghana
Mozambique
Tanzania
Cameroon
Guinea
Namibia
The Gambia
Cape Verde
Guinea-Bissau
Niger
Togo
Central African Republic
Ivory Coast
Nigeria
Tunisia
Chad
Kenya
Republic of the Congo
Uganda
Comoros
Lesotho
Rwanda
Zambia
Democratic Republic of the Congo
Liberia
São Tomé and Príncipe
Zimbabwe
Djibouti
Libya
Senegal
Egypt
Madagascar
Seychelles
Algeria
Gabon
Nigeria
Angola
Ghana
Republic of the Congo
Benin
Guinea
Rwanda
Botswana
Guinea-Bissau
São Tomé and Príncipe
Burkina Faso
Ivory Coast
Senegal
Burundi
Kenya
Seychelles
Cameroon
Lesotho
Sierra Leone
Cape Verde
Liberia
Somalia
Central African Republic
Libya
South Africa
Chad
Madagascar
South Sudan
Comoros
Malawi
Sudan
Democratic Republic of the Congo
Mali
Tanzania
Djibouti
Mauritania
The Gambia
Egypt
Mauritius
Togo
Equatorial Guinea
Morocco
Tunisia
Eritrea
Mozambique
Uganda
Eswatini
Namibia
Zambia
Ethiopia
Niger
Zimbabwe
Algeria
Madagascar
Angola
Malawi
Benin
Mali
Botswana
Mauritania
Burkina Faso
Mauritius
Burundi
Morocco
Cameroon
Mozambique
Cape Verde
Namibia
Central African Republic
Niger
Chad
Nigeria
Comoros
Republic of the Congo
Democratic Republic of the Congo
Rwanda
Djibouti
São Tomé and Príncipe
Egypt
Senegal
Equatorial Guinea
Seychelles
Eritrea
Sierra Leone
Eswatini
Somalia
Ethiopia
South Africa
Gabon
South Sudan
Ghana
Sudan
Guinea
Tanzania
Guinea-Bissau
The Gambia
Ivory Coast
Togo
Kenya
Tunisia
Lesotho
Uganda
Liberia
Zambia
Libya
Zimbabwe
Algeria
Angola
Benin
Botswana
Burkina Faso
Burundi
Cameroon
Cape Verde
Central African Republic
Chad
Comoros
Democratic Republic of the Congo
Djibouti
Egypt
Equatorial Guinea
Eritrea
Eswatini
Ethiopia
Gabon
Ghana
Guinea
Guinea-Bissau
Ivory Coast
Kenya
Lesotho
Liberia
Libya
Madagascar
Malawi
Mali
Mauritania
Mauritius
Morocco
Mozambique
Namibia
Niger
Nigeria
Republic of the Congo
Rwanda
São Tomé and Príncipe
Senegal
Seychelles
Sierra Leone
Somalia
South Africa
South Sudan
Sudan
Tanzania
The Gambia
Togo
Tunisia
Uganda
Zambia
Zimbabwe
Documents
African Union Convention on Preventing and Combating Corruption

The African Union Convention on Preventing and Combating Corruption, adopted in 2003, is aimed at developing and strengthening the anti-corruption mechanisms in the public and private sectors, promoting and supporting the interaction among member States to ensure effective enforcement of anti-corruption measures.

The Convention has provisions on corruption prevention, criminalization of a number of corruption crimes, including domestic and foreign bribery, misappropriation of property by officials, trading in influence, illicit enrichment, money laundering and concealment of property, regional cooperation, provision of mutual legal assistance and asset recovery.

African Union Advisory Board on Corruption 2018-2022 Strategic Plan

The 2018-2022 Strategic Plan of the African Union Advisory Board on Corruption is a road map used for the purposes of planning, decision-making and allocating resources in the framework of the AU anti-corruption activities.

Declaration on the African Anti-Corruption Year

The Declaration was adopted in the 31st session of the African Union Assembly in 2018. Its signatories commit to implementing measures for countering illicit financial flows and corruption, ensuring asset recovery, enhancing transparency of the use of the State budget etc.

African Charter on Values and Principles of Public Service and Administration

The Charter, adopted on 31 January 2011 examines the rights and obligations of public servants, including the anti-corruption standards which they are subject to, and contains a Code of Conduct for Public Service Agents.

African Anti-Corruption Model Legislation

The publication, prepared by the African Union in cooperation with the United Nations, is a model framework anti-corruption law which can be used as a basis by the AU member States for developing their domestic legislation with a view to taking into account, to the extent possible, the provisions of international treaties (the UN Convention against Corruption, the African Union Convention on Preventing and Combating Corruption and other similar documents). The model law covers, in particular, the following issues:

  • establishment and functioning of anti-corruption bodies;
  • corruption crimes and penalties for their commission;
  • corruption prevention measures;
  • asset recovery;
  • mutual legal assistance, and others.
Assembly Special Declaration on Illicit Financial Flows

The Declaration was adopted in the 24th session of the African Union Assembly in 2015. In this document, the member States reiterate their commitment to combat illicit financial flows and ensure the recovery of assets also by fulfilling the recommendations of the High Level Panel on Illicit Financial Flows from Africa.

News

We use cookies in order to improve the quality and usability of the HSE website. More information about the use of cookies is available here, and the regulations on processing personal data can be found here. By continuing to use the site, you hereby confirm that you have been informed of the use of cookies by the HSE website and agree with our rules for processing personal data. You may disable cookies in your browser settings.

Антикоррупционный портал НИУ ВШЭ
Общая информация
Работа по противодействию коррупции
Оценочный механизм

Африканский союз (АС) – континентальная международная организация, появившаяся в 2002 году как правопреемник Организации африканского единства с целью укрепления сотрудничества между странами Африканского континента. Членами организации являются 55 государств Африки. АС инициировал принятие ряда межафриканских соглашений, в том числе и в сфере противодействия коррупции.

Руководство организацией осуществляет Председатель, который избирается высшим органом управления АС – Ассамблеей Африканского союза – сроком на один год. В настоящее время эту должность занимает Маки Салл (Сенегал). Штаб-квартира АС расположена в Аддис-Абебе.

Работа АС по противодействию коррупции преимущественно строится вокруг имплементации Конвенции Африканского союза по предупреждению и борьбе с коррупцией, принятой в 2003 году и вступившей в силу в 2006 году. На данный момент Конвенцию ратифицировали 47 участников АС.

Конвенция предусматривает криминализацию ряда уголовных преступлений, включая подкуп (национальных и иностранных должностных лиц), нецелевое использование имущества, торговлю влиянием, незаконное обогащение, отмывание денег и сокрытие имущества, а также содержит положения, касающиеся предупреждения коррупционных преступлений, регионального сотрудничества, оказания взаимной правовой помощи и возврата активов, полученных в результате неправомерной деятельности.

В целях оказания поддержки странам-участницам по вопросам реализации положений Конвенции и принятия мер по предупреждению и борьбе с коррупцией, а также для осуществления технического мониторинга соблюдения Конвенции странами-участницами в соответствии со статьей 22(1) Конвенции был создан Консультативный совет Африканского союза по вопросам борьбы с коррупцией. Консультативный совет состоит из 11 членов, избираемых Исполнительным советом: 10 мест в нем занимают по два представителя от каждого региона Африки (Восточный, Западный, Северный, Южный и Центральный) и еще одно место – представитель от региона, который меняется раз в 2 года.

Консультативный совет каждый год также организует для членов АС мероприятие под названием «Африканский диалог по вопросам борьбы с коррупцией».

Для отслеживания процесса имплементации Конвенции используется механизм самостоятельного представления отчетности: страны-участницы в течение года после ратификации документа направляют Консультативному совету сведения о прогрессе, достигнутом в области противодействия коррупции, и далее не реже раза в год подают соответствующие отчеты в Совет. Консультативный совет, в свою очередь, готовит итоговые доклады о ходе реализации Конвенции в странах-членах и направляет соответствующую информацию Исполнительному совету.

Государства, входящие в организацию
Алжир
Демократическая Республика Конго
Либерия
Нигерия
Тунис
Ангола
Джибути
Ливия
Республика Конго
Уганда
Бенин
Египет
Маврикий
Руанда
ЦАР
Ботсвана
Замбия
Мавритания
Сан-Томе и Принсипи
Чад
Буркина-Фасо
Зимбабве
Мадагаскар
Сейшельские Острова
Экваториальная Гвинея
Бурунди
Кабо-Верде
Малави
Сенегал
Эритрея
Габон
Камерун
Мали
Сомали
Эсватини
Гамбия
Кения
Марокко
Судан
Эфиопия
Гана
Коморы
Мозамбик
Сьерра-Леоне
ЮАР
Гвинея
Кот-д'Ивуар
Намибия
Танзания
Южный Судан
Гвинея-Бисау
Лесото
Нигер
Того
Алжир
Замбия
Мали
Танзания
Ангола
Зимбабве
Марокко
Того
Бенин
Кабо-Верде
Мозамбик
Тунис
Ботсвана
Камерун
Намибия
Уганда
Буркина-Фасо
Кения
Нигер
ЦАР
Бурунди
Коморы
Нигерия
Чад
Габон
Кот-д'Ивуар
Республика Конго
Экваториальная Гвинея
Гамбия
Лесото
Руанда
Эритрея
Гана
Либерия
Сан-Томе и Принсипи
Эсватини
Гвинея
Ливия
Сейшельские Острова
Эфиопия
Гвинея-Бисау
Маврикий
Сенегал
ЮАР
Демократическая Республика Конго
Мавритания
Сомали
Южный Судан
Джибути
Мадагаскар
Судан
Египет
Малави
Сьерра-Леоне
Алжир
Кения
Сан-Томе и Принсипи
Ангола
Коморы
Сейшельские Острова
Бенин
Кот-д'Ивуар
Сенегал
Ботсвана
Лесото
Сомали
Буркина-Фасо
Либерия
Судан
Бурунди
Ливия
Сьерра-Леоне
Габон
Маврикий
Танзания
Гамбия
Мавритания
Того
Гана
Мадагаскар
Тунис
Гвинея
Малави
Уганда
Гвинея-Бисау
Мали
ЦАР
Демократическая Республика Конго
Марокко
Чад
Джибути
Мозамбик
Экваториальная Гвинея
Египет
Намибия
Эритрея
Замбия
Нигер
Эсватини
Зимбабве
Нигерия
Эфиопия
Кабо-Верде
Республика Конго
ЮАР
Камерун
Руанда
Южный Судан
Алжир
Малави
Ангола
Мали
Бенин
Марокко
Ботсвана
Мозамбик
Буркина-Фасо
Намибия
Бурунди
Нигер
Габон
Нигерия
Гамбия
Республика Конго
Гана
Руанда
Гвинея
Сан-Томе и Принсипи
Гвинея-Бисау
Сейшельские Острова
Демократическая Республика Конго
Сенегал
Джибути
Сомали
Египет
Судан
Замбия
Сьерра-Леоне
Зимбабве
Танзания
Кабо-Верде
Того
Камерун
Тунис
Кения
Уганда
Коморы
ЦАР
Кот-д'Ивуар
Чад
Лесото
Экваториальная Гвинея
Либерия
Эритрея
Ливия
Эсватини
Маврикий
Эфиопия
Мавритания
ЮАР
Мадагаскар
Южный Судан
Алжир
Ангола
Бенин
Ботсвана
Буркина-Фасо
Бурунди
Габон
Гамбия
Гана
Гвинея
Гвинея-Бисау
Демократическая Республика Конго
Джибути
Египет
Замбия
Зимбабве
Кабо-Верде
Камерун
Кения
Коморы
Кот-д'Ивуар
Лесото
Либерия
Ливия
Маврикий
Мавритания
Мадагаскар
Малави
Мали
Марокко
Мозамбик
Намибия
Нигер
Нигерия
Республика Конго
Руанда
Сан-Томе и Принсипи
Сейшельские Острова
Сенегал
Сомали
Судан
Сьерра-Леоне
Танзания
Того
Тунис
Уганда
ЦАР
Чад
Экваториальная Гвинея
Эритрея
Эсватини
Эфиопия
ЮАР
Южный Судан
Документы
Конвенция Африканского союза по предупреждению и борьбе с коррупцией

Конвенция Африканского союза по предупреждению и борьбе с коррупцией, принятая в 2003 году, направлена на развитие и укрепление механизмов борьбы с коррупцией в государственном и частном секторах, поощрение и поддержку взаимодействия между странами-членами для обеспечения эффективного применения антикоррупционных мер.

Конвенция включает положения, касающиеся предупреждения коррупции, криминализации ряда коррупционных преступлений, включая подкуп внутри страны и за рубежом, нецелевое использование имущества должностными лицами, торговлю влиянием, незаконное обогащение, отмывание денег и сокрытие имущества, регионального сотрудничества, оказания взаимной правовой помощи и возвращения активов.

Стратегический план Консультативного совета Африканского союза по вопросам борьбы с коррупцией на 2018–2022 гг.

Стратегический план Консультативного совета Африканского союза по вопросам борьбы с коррупцией на 2018–2022 гг. является «дорожной картой», служащей инструментом для планирования, принятия решений и распределения ресурсов в рамках антикоррупционной деятельности АС.

Декларация Ассамблеи Африканского союза о проведении года борьбы с коррупцией в странах Африканского континента

Декларация была принята на тридцать первой сессии Ассамблеи Африканского союза в 2018 году. Подписавшие документ страны-участницы принимают на себя обязательства по внедрению мер борьбы с незаконными финансовыми потоками и коррупцией, обеспечению возврата активов, повышению прозрачности использования государственного бюджета и иные.

Хартия Африканского союза о ценностях и принципах государственной службы и государственного управления

В Хартии, принятой 31 января 2011 года, рассматриваются права и обязанности государственных служащих, в том числе применяемые к ним антикоррупционные стандарты, а также представлен Кодекс поведения государственных служащих.

Модельный закон о борьбе с коррупцией Африканского союза

Документ, подготовленный Африканским союзом совместно с ООН, представляет собой типовой рамочный антикоррупционный закон, который может быть взят за основу странами-членами АС при разработке соответствующего национального законодательства с тем, чтобы максимально полно учесть положения международных соглашений (Конвенции ООН против коррупции, Конвенции АС по предупреждению и борьбе с коррупцией и иных аналогичных). Модельный закон, в частности, охватывает такие вопросы, как:

  • создание и функционирование антикоррупционных органов;
  • коррупционные преступления и санкции за их совершение;
  • меры по предупреждению коррупции;
  • возврат активов;
  • взаимная правовая помощь и некоторые иные.
Специальная декларация Ассамблеи Африканского союза о незаконных финансовых потоках

Декларация была принята на двадцать четвертой сессии Ассамблеи Африканского союза в 2015 году. В ней страны-участницы подтверждают принятые на себя обязательства по борьбе с незаконными финансовыми потоками и обеспечению возврата активов, в том числе посредством выполнения рекомендаций Группы высокого уровня ООН по борьбе с незаконными финансовыми потоками из стран Африканского континента (High Level Panel on Illicit Financial Flows from Africa).

Новости

Мы используем файлы cookies для улучшения работы сайта НИУ ВШЭ и большего удобства его использования. Более подробную информацию об использовании файлов cookies можно найти здесь, наши правила обработки персональных данных – здесь. Продолжая пользоваться сайтом, вы подтверждаете, что были проинформированы об использовании файлов cookies сайтом НИУ ВШЭ и согласны с нашими правилами обработки персональных данных. Вы можете отключить файлы cookies в настройках Вашего браузера.